NYS continuing education requirements - All licensees must complete 22.5 hours of approved continuing education credit, including at least three hours of approved fair housing and/or antidiscrimination training, within their license period to renew their real estate license in New York State. Brokers who were exempt as of June 30, 2008, will still be exempt from these requirements.
National Association of REALTORS quadrennial Code of Ethics training - All REALTORS must complete 2.5 hours of Code of Ethics training between January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2016 to maintain membership in the REALTOR organization.
NYS continuing education requirements
The New York State Department of State (DOS) requires all licensed real estate brokers, associate brokers and salespersons to complete 22.5 hours of approved continuing education within their license period, in order to renew their licenses. This includes three hours of approved fair housing training. These requirements do not apply to any practicing real estate broker who was licensed for at least 15 consecutive years prior to July 1, 2008. Real estate continuing education credit is granted for programs approved by the DOS only and offered only by DOS approved providers. Please note: Most of NYSAR’s national designation courses also carry DOS-approved continuing education credit.
back to the top
NAR quadrennial Code of Ethics training
Between January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2016, all REALTORS must complete 2.5 hours of Code of Ethics training. The training helps REALTORS identify ethical issues and understand the process of enforcing such a code.
As part of the training, REALTORS will be required to identify at least two aspirational concepts in the Preamble to the Code of Ethics, describe the concept of general business ethics and identify how the Code of Ethics compares and contrasts with the concept of general business ethics. Instructors will highlight commonly discussed Articles of the Code of Ethics and help identify possible violations.
REALTORS who have completed Code of Ethics training as a requirement of membership in another association are not required to complete additional ethics training until the next four year cycle. Failure to complete the required periodic ethics training shall be considered a violation of a membership duty for which REALTOR membership shall be suspended until such time as the required training is completed.
New York REALTORS have many options when it comes to obtaining their Code of Ethics training: NAR offers an online course or you can take the Graduate REALTOR Institute (GRI) RI409 course: Equal and Ethical Service for Today's Consumer. For example, this course, which is offered in various locations throughout the state, also includes 15 hours of continuing education credit and fullfills the New York State requirement for fair housing training.
back to the top
Fair Housing continuing education requirement
On August 1, 2007, former Gov. Eliot Spitzer signed into law an amendment to section 441(3)(a) of the Real Property Law. The amendment requires all real estate licensees renewing their real estate license after July 1, 2008 to have at least three hours of training in fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property. The three hours of training required under the amendment is not an additional requirement to the 22.5 hours already required. Brokers who are exempt from the continuing education requirement are also exempt from the fair housing and/or antidiscrimination training requirement.
If a licensee has already completed the required 22.5 hours of CE and the training did not include at least three hours of fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property training, they are required to complete the three hours prior to renewing their license.
NYSAR members can fulfill the fair housing requirement by taking the Graduate REALTOR Institute (GRI) RI402 course: Real Estate Legal Issues or the RI409 course: Equal and Ethical Service for Today's Consumer. These courses, which are offered in various locations throughout the state, include 15 hours of continuing education credit. For additional information on these courses, click here.
back to top