President Trump approves Lake Ontario disaster declaration

President Donald Trump has issued a major disaster declaration for Lake Ontario shoreline flooding this spring and summer, an action that clears the way for some degree of federal recovery aid. A news release from the White House listed the following shoreline counties that are part of the plan: Niagara, Orleans, Wayne, Oswego, Jefferson and St. Lawrence. 

A background document from the Federal Emergency Management Agency said more counties could be added to the declaration “if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.”

The aid in question serves to reimburse the state, tribal agencies, local governments and some non-profits for money they spent coping with shoreline flooding and rebuilding damaged infrastructure.

Learn more.